New to TR - Did I choose too high of a volume plan?

I’m new to TR… and generally new to interval training period (in the past I just trained to get the distances in). I completed two IM 70.3s and a marathon last year and plan this year on an Olympic in March, IM 70.3 St. George in May, and full distance IM AZ in November ( my first full distance). I’m 53 and a few years back to working out from Achilles tendon surgery.

I chose and filled my calendar with the base and build mid volume half distance plans to go up until the 70.3 in May, and then the mid volume full distance base/build/specialty to take me to November. I based the choice primarily by looking at the total hours per week that the plans called for in that they were similar to the hours I would put in typically.

I’m on week four of the base half distance plan, and during the first three weeks, I’ve had to cut out 1 or 2 runs/bikes during the week either due to soreness or general fatigue. I’m realizing now that equating the generally lower effort levels of my past workouts to the higher level called for by TR adds up to a pretty decent increase in TSS than what I think I’ve done in the past. I’m hoping this week (it’s the first recovery week so a little less TSS than last week or the week before) I’ll finish all of the workouts.

Now to my question: Should I continue to work towards my goal of completing all of the calendared activities in the mid volume plan under the assumption that my body will adapt to the high workload if I’m wise enough not to overtrain, or should I consider switching to the low volume plan? Or should I wait a few more weeks to tackle that question? I’m really enjoying the workouts and TR in general, but I want to make sure I make the best choices in training to lead to the best outcome in November…

Thanks in advance for any advice…

1 Like

Yes consider it, but first consider some other factors;