New to TR, concerned about Plan Builder output

Background:
I’m new to TR, but I have a big endurance sport background. I’m approx 4.2 watt/kilo right now, but I’ve been only doing base training. This year, I’ve been training indoor consistently for 3 blocs of 4 weeks. All 10+ hours, with 2-3 day of Threshold interval (95% FTP) of 4 x 12 min or 2 x 24 mins slowly increasing to 4 x 15 and 2 x 30 mins. This was done outside TR, but I’ve uploaded the rides here… I have not done any VO2 max type workout (over FTP) so far this year… I have been lifting 2x per week.

Why I have signed up for TR:
So… I just signed up to trainer road doing the plan builder for a race calendar (XCC/XCO) starting in may. I was interested in the red/green light feature to help me manage stress level…
I’ve selected the High Volume Plan, entered my race dates etc…

The Problem:
I’m just looking at the result of the plan builder, and I’m really concerned that the proposed workout are just not hard enough… I really don’t want to sound like a jerk here, but I’m used to training either at FTP for threshold workout or at very high intensity for VO2 max type workout… Long ride (2.5 hours +) were done at the very top of Zone 2 (70% FTP)

Looking at the output of the plan, it seems that workout are in a VERY comfortable zone, even for workout tag as “stretched” for example Ozark at 56% of ftp for 2.5 hours.

I need your advice on how to proceed going forward… I’ve done a lot of hard work this season and don’t want to screw it up because I did not select the proper plan… Your help is appreciated! Thanks!

What are the personal loads for the workouts? If you’re looking for something harder try looking at workouts with a higher PL. Because you just joined Trainer Road the program most likely does not know your personal loads yet.

2 Likes

In the interest of using the right terms and linking to the official TR support files:

Workout Levels = values of each workout: