Nervous... Outdoors vs. TR?

Advice needed.

Outside vs. TR? Which is more effective?

I have been riding and racing road and cyclocross for the past five years. During that time all my training was outdoors. Now, with a new job, I don’t have the time to put in the long hours. I have switched 95% to indoor training. However, I do go on a group ride once per week. Its a “drop group ride.” I have not yet been dropped but I have struggled to hang on to the lead group (4 or maybe 5 riders).

I am struggling because I don’t have a bunch of outdoor base miles in my legs? Or is it because I’ve only just completed sweet spot II?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!

That depends on your goals. If you’re looking to exercise, it’s all the same. Even if you’re training for a race, it still depends. Plenty of people were training and preparing for races w/structured training outdoors long before TR came along.

What volume plan are you doing? How long is your group ride? Were you previously able to hang w/the lead group?

2 Likes

I feel ya, @Lysdahlz. I’ve been pretty time constrained this winter/spring and ditched all the long outdoor base miles, fast group rides I’ve done in the past. I’m definitely feeling it this year. Almost alarming. It’s been a disappointing spring, but now the weather is finally nice, I’ve been ditching the weekend TR workouts and going outside.
Next year if I stick with TR, I’m going with traditional base.

I also race CX and not sure that I see the utility in a bunch of long group rides which take 5-hours each day. That’s nothing like the environment I race in, not sure what it gets me and I had the best season ever from doing work indoors, on the trainer last year. The nice part is that I didn’t have to worry about broken bones and didn’t have to be stuck outside in the Texas heat for three months.

1 Like