Nat'l Elite Cyclist case study. Less training, more intensity, better results. Interesting paper

Training time during the period went down 20%. Time at 90%+ HRmax went up 4% to 7%…so well up but still in the polarized zone.

TT time improved 15%. Vo2max improved by >14%. MAP went from 424W to 481W.

Just in a nutshell, 29 4x4 workouts. Estimated 0.5% improvement per workout. Nothing earth shattering there but that load was divided up into two blocks…several days the rider was doing two of these workouts per day.

1 Like

“Total monthly training volume was reduced in the 2011 preseason compared with the 2010 preseason,”

and

“and 2 HAIT blocks (14 sessions in 9 days and 15 sessions in 10 days) were performed as running.”

Skipping ahead to the conclusion, do you think its accurate to summarize as “off-season cross training delivered increased aerobic capacity and endurance for an (n=1) elite cyclist” or something else?

Maybe! I’m not a cross expert. In this study they basically did either low intensity work or 4x4min @ 90% to 95% of MaxHR. The few times I’ve done cross I’d say my effort level was something different than a 4x4 workout but that doesn’t mean the adaptation would be different. I don’t know enough to say.

But I have done 4x4 several times. The thought of doing 2x/day, 1x/day, 2x/day, 1x/day, 2x/day,… that workout (daily) for a couple of weeks back-to-back makes me cringe a little. I’d have to do some more training before I could handle that training.

if we moved to a cold climate with snow on the ground, I would absolutely cross-train (cross-country ski). So the study doesn’t apply to where I currently live, but can see cross-training benefits in the future.

Oh, I was thinking cyclocross. :crazy_face: Yeah, I see what you’re saying…he did some running at first and they still saw improvement in cycling performance.