My Butt, my saddle

Hello! I’m new to the TrainerRoad community and am really excited to get things going. I’m currently going into week 2 of my Base Phase for the Rolling Road Race Plan (Low Volume).

My question today relates to my butt’s relationship with my saddle. As I’m going through these beginning workouts, I find that the soreness in my tush is my main source of discomfort as opposed to my base fitness or the soreness in my legs.

Does anyone else deal with this? Do you just push through the feeling of bruising/pressure? Could it be my saddle? I’m doing what the app is telling me and putting my sit bones directly on top of the saddle “wings.” Maybe it’s something that you get used to as your butt develops a callous of sorts. I have no idea. Any info on this topic would be appreciated.

Thanks - MLB

1 Like

Welcome to TR…

How long have you been riding? Have you used that saddle long before TR? What saddle is it?

If you are new to riding, then yes, there is a bit of a “toughening” process…saddle time usually resolves it, but it can take some time. But you’ll get there.

Welcome. :smiley:

I have a thread on saddle issues that is worth a look for starters.

2 Likes

Did you just start riding? Had you been riding outside or inside without TR?

If you just started, then yes, it’s going to take 5-10 rides to get used to your saddle assuming you have good padded shorts and a saddle that agrees with you.

I’m new to indoor training. The saddle never gives me problems when I’m outside. I’ll take a look at my saddle when I get a chance and respond here.

Thank you, I’ll take a look!

1 Like

I’d previously been riding outside without TR. I do use padded shorts when I ride both inside and out. 5-10 rides? Got it.

Although now that I think about it, I’m not sure my padded shorts and saddle are considered “good.” It’s certainly a budget bike setup.

1 Like