Saddle discomfort on indoor trainer

I am new to indoor training. I use a second bike with a similar setup and same saddle as my outdoor bike. Outdoors my saddle is pretty comfortable, but I’ve been struggling indoors. I suspect it’s because it’s 100% seated. A few quick standing breaks could work, but resistance is so light I can’t really pedal standing in most recoveries, and I don’t want to sacrifice an effort. Any thoughts on how to manage through this?

you should definitely stand regularly. I try to stand 1 minute every 10 minutes. I use erg and don’t have a problem standing in the recovery valleys if you just drop your cadence to 50 or 60, but if you don’t like standing in the recovery valleys then pick a time to stand during the intervals themselves. I find it’s a really good way to break up long sweetspot and threshold intervals and something to look forward to when you feel discomfort.

Other ideas besides fit and kit are using some kind of rocker plate. Please search for threads on rockers for more info.

1 Like

Not so much that you are seated but that the bike is fixed. Even if you sat in the saddle for an entire outdoor ride the bike would move subtly under you giving you momentary breaks.

You don’t say if you are using your trainer in Erg or resistance mode. If in Erg mode, just slow the cadence right down and the trainer will adjust.

It’s erg mode, but doesn’t adjust super quick. I guess i need to slow leg speed considerably before standing. that might help prevent the rapid change

I just did a 3 hour and 15 minute ride on the trainer…next day developed a saddle sore. Personally, I am looking into either the inside ride or a rocker plate to provide some more motion, as I just find it super awkward standing while riding the trainer.