Newbie to Trainer Riding w/Sore Sit Bones

I am very new to trainer riding. I have ridden for fitness over the years; I am not a racer. I’m 63 and with a hearing disability, it just became too dangerous to ride on the roads around here. I added a Saris Fluid^2 trainer to my Trek FX 7.1 and am successfully all connected with TrainerRoad. I have a Base Phase plan in place and have been riding as scheduled for the past couple of weeks.

So far, so good.

…except my butt is killing me. Over the past few years, I was able to sit in the saddle for 20-mile road rides with no pain. However, since I got back on my bike after a layoff or more than a year, the time I can stand to remain in the saddle is decreasing. I’m only riding three times a week, but 90-minute rides become 70-minute rides, 60 minutes becomes 45, and today’s 60-minute ride went about 35 minutes before I just had to get off the bike.

I have tried adjusting my position on the saddle using the in-app cues, and that helps. Some. For a little while.

I purchased a more comfortable seat, hoping that was going to help. No joy. The seat is a lot thicker (vertically) than the original seat, and I adjusted the height to put me in the same relative position to the handlebars and pedals.

I realize I am out of shape, overweight, and, well, old…but I’m sitting at my desk in a chair that is usually very comfortable and I have to keep shifting my position because my butt is so sore.

What am I doing - or have I done - wrong?

TIA

A couple of things you could do: riding the trainer is not the same as when you are outdoors, no traffic lights roundabouts, stop signs etc. so the trainer will but more stress in the area.

Get a bike fit

Make sure your shorts are in good condition, buy new shorts.
(Personally after a long break I used to ride alternative days with two pairs of shorts to increase the padding, only for a while until I was used to riding indoors again)