Max HR set too low?

Hi everyone,

I’m John and I got into road cycling about 5 months ago and have been doing structured workouts for about 4. I didn’t have too much gear at the start so I went based on perceived exertion and got an HR monitor later. Since the rains have picked up here, I recently got an indoor trainer which can finally give me power info.

A little about my physical attributes - I’m 25 years old, 182cm, about 75 kg and have always been active in sports and pretty, but not exceptionally fit. I’ve always had a pretty slow-beating heart. Both in terms of resting HR (around 47 before I started training, gets down to 39 or so these days sometimes) and as I’ve found out recently, Max HR.

I’ve been zwifting quite a bit for the past week and took the ramp FTP test to get a baseline to establish workout intensities. The max HR I reached in the test was 181 and the FTP I got from the test was 317W. This was higher than what I expected so I’ve been trying to validate this number with some workouts and have done the 2*15’ @ FTP and a sweet spot workout that has me oscillate between 305W and 280W. Now here’s the thing - These workouts were very hard, especially the 15 min FTP intervals - but doable. Although my legs are working very hard, my breathing is still pretty controlled, even at FTP intensity. However I’m noticing that my heart rate comes very close to the max HR that came out in the ramp test. In the FTP intervals, my HR crept up to 178 at one point and settled around 175-176 bpm. In the sweet spot workout it settled around 173-174 in the last 305W interval.
I don’t think my FTP or SST heart rates should be such a high fraction of my maxHR. So it leads me to the conclusion that either the ramp test overestimated my FTP or that my maxHR is not really 181 like I think and is higher. Which one do you think is more plausible? Any general guidelines would be helpful. I’m attaching the power and HR data from my Ramp test here if that helps.