Manually adjusting FTP

I am new to TR and have a question about how to handle FTP - the automatic detection put me at 217W based on previous rides. Which would have been fine a month ago, but having been ill since then I can see that I have no chance of doing workouts based on that anymore. So what is the best way to get the workouts down to my current level?

I can decrease intensity in the SW, but I would have to do that every time.
Or I could manually enter an FTP a bit lower than the one detected. But if I do this, how will the automatic detection work? I would like it to still detect any new FTP increase, but not anything based on old rides.

I haven’t been able to find a clear answer to this, so hope I can get some help :slight_smile:

In addition: How far back does the FTP detection look at rides? I would have to go back almost 2 months to find activities that would indicate what I was capable of before my illness. That seems like a long window (or maybe it’s just the decay of FTP that is a lot slower than my old body :rofl: )

I’m not sure exactly how far back AI FTP goes but just adjust your FTP manually to what feels right. AIFTPD up to the start of September had been coming up with a number of between 274-282w, which is flattering but for me but I feel it is getting biased by the road group riding I am giving it and I’m training for TT’s so I’ve manually adjusted it to 250w. After just under a month at my manual FTP, AIFTP seems to be suggesting an increase but one that’s more in line with my manual adjustment.

2 Likes

You could add a ramp test and do a new AI FTP detection. It should take into account the time off the bike and adjust. You could also just do the ramp test (or any of the ftp tests) so see where you actually are and go from there.