Long finger gloves or short finger gloves?

I’ve alway wore short finger gloves but as of lately i’ve been wearing long finger gloves. Its been nice for training and racing, from braking to just having more of a comfort control feel on the bike. For summer the gloves don’t get hot, just the same as short finger gloves just long though.

what do other people do, I would like to know your thoughts on this and reason why on what gloves you all prefer to use?

Temperature is my only guide. 15C or less I wear a long sleeve base layer, tights and long fingered gloves. Plus 15C I wear short fingered gloves, shorts and a base layer. 20C plus the base layer goes…but then I small, skinny (61kg) and feel the cold! If I racing though I wear a long sleeved TT skinsuit and no gloves unless it is less than 15C in which case I have some aero mitts :grinning:

1 Like

Long fingered gloves all the time when outside. As a machinist, my hands and fingertips are essential so I protect them. I know some get sweaty hands when its really smoldering outside but it’s never been a bother to me so long fingered gloves all the way.

4 Likes

Jeez, I think there is something wrong with me. I wore just a skinsuit in 12mph wind and rain at abingdon airfield this weekend gone.

On the road no gloves until it gets below 15 degrees, unless really damp/wet.
Typically below 10 I’ll put on a pair of Castelli CX gloves, very thin but provide some warmth and grip, there are ok in the rain if not too cold.
Much below that I’ll vary gloves but always long finger.

On the trainer I sometimes chunk on some fingerless track mitts, mainly for moisture/sweat catching.

On my MTB always long fingers. I have come off too many times to not, nobody wants to pick out bits of twig from their palms :slight_smile:

1 Like