Leg ache during recovery between SS intervals

My legs feel “fine” during the SS interval but sometimes I get a dull pain feeling during the recovery between intervals. Is this common/normal? If so what causes it? I’m curious as to what is happening physiologically.

Thanks for any information.

2 Likes

Are you a new cyclist?

Are you new to structured training?

How is this different than any “normal” pain or ache experienced by all cyclist?

Obviously, cycling, and structured training specifically, lead to differing levels of general fatigue and temporary discomfort. This can be due to many factors. Lactic acid build up, injury, muscular strain and recovery…ect. More information is needed.

I’ve been cycling at a competitive racing level since 2013 and a TR user since 2014. The pain is different in a sense that it’s just a dull ache that only happens during the easy parts of the workouts of SS rides.

I wonder if you’re over-tensing muscles in the recovery section. Going from constant high engagement on the SS interval you’ve got to relax as much as you. Keep your pedaling “light” and efficient. Over-engaged muscles may hinder bloodflow and slow clearing away metabolism byproducts.

Hi @Tim_Beveridge !