Learning to recognise physical sensations associated with different levels of power

Hi everyone

I’m pretty new to riding with power and heard on the podcast it can take a while to learn what different levels of power feel like. I definitely have a lot to learn! I was trying to pay attention to how different power outputs felt in my body whilst doing intervals outside today and would really like to hear about your experiences of this. What physical sensations tell you that you are riding at a particular level of power or in a particular power zone?

1 Like

The “Descriptions” in Table 1 of this link are good for reference:

1 Like

How much it hurts :laughing:

Seriously though no one can really describe it for you so that when you next go out you get a feeling for it, it’s something that just has to be instinctive through experience. Your own strengths and weakness make it so…

1 Like

In my experience the best way to learn how it feels is to go out and do it. Look at the brief descriptions from Chads link then go do it. Go try to ride at a steady 3-4h pace paying attention to how it feels then map that to the power you are doing. Same thing for threshold. Go ‘hard tempo’ for 10 minutes then start winding it up until it feels like you’re on a timer… then back off… that’s what threshold feels like.

Best way to learn to ride to RPE is to ride to RPE.

1 Like

Building on this, just try to learn and associate the power data you see in your inside training, and then attempt to apply similar feelings when you get outside. Pay attention to things like your breathing, muscular feel and overall effort at the range of training you do inside. It’s not perfect, but you can then apply those basic feelings outside to get closer to the ideals intended when training outside.

It doesn’t have to be perfect and you will benefit from paying attention in training so you can ultimately apply that in your riding outside of training (group rides, events, races, etc.).

4 Likes