Lag response with ERG mode -Saris H3- using Power Match

Just purchased a Saris H3. I have completed 3 workouts so far using Assiomo Power Pedal and power match. Previously I had a cyclops fluid 2 so this was a big step up. Needless to say I’m new to ERG mode. My questions this:What should I expect reaction time to be for Target Power changes? It seem the lag so far is about 10-15 seconds (it can be within 10-15 watts plus or minus much sooner). I have used big gear up front but switched to small gear up front on a separate workout and noticed some difference. Any blog post, podcast episode, or forum thread I should read? Just to be clear this may be nothing negative with the trainer, it is mostly likely user error. Thanks in advance for your input!

Lag for the H3 is about 2-3 seconds typically, it is the one trainer out there with a smooth ramp up. I tried a Neo2 which has much faster response time and did not care for it one bit. The Kickr was somewhere in the middle, I liked it, but the H3 is definitely the most butteriest smoothest out there.

Personally I used mine in the small ring and middle of the cassette. Just maintain a steady cadence, it takes time to learn how to get along with ERG mode, but I ran my H3 with Assioma DUO also and had great results. Stick with it and don’t worry about nailing that 255w interval at 255, even if you are lower the first few seconds and even if you average 250w, you’re still getting the benefit of the workout.

Here’s a workout with some big power jumps as well as steady state stuff so you can zoom in and view response time, etc. this was with the H3 and Assioma

1 Like
  • This is the most important aspect to getting ERG mode to perform as designed.
  • IGNORE POWER. Stop watching it and potentially adjusting your cadence to “fix” the power issue. I call this “chasing power” and it is a bad thing to do in ERG mode.