Is caffeine/dehydration causing stomach issues

Has anyone who suffers from stomach issues on the run ever pegged it on caffeine and/or dehydration in their every day life?

To be a little more specific: my background is running. I was a fairly competitive distance runner in middle/high school, and I never had stomach issues until college. Never drank coffee prior to college years. I started experience the running “runs” here and there through college…which is also the time I started consuming large amounts of coffee and other caffeinated drinks to aid studying.

Fast forward to today. I’m now 35 and have had on and off stomach issues when running pretty much ever since. And I am still a big coffee drinker. When I really think about it, I feel as if the “runs” are more common during weeks when I’m not actively prioritizing hydration outside of my workouts. I have days where I get busy at work and I realize that I may have drank a coffee or 2, and have had zero water/electrolytes all day.

For the next few weeks I will paying very close attention to this, but was wondering if anyone else has had similar issues, and if you had resolved them simply by hydrating your system better.

Hi!

Caffein can give you stomach issues, but not in the usuals coffee dosing. Most people will experience such stomach issues when using caffeinated supplements (like caffeine pills, or a lot of caffeinated energy gels).

On the other hand, imagine if any time someone gets dehydratated gets “runs” and stomach ache, seems like a weird way to get them to save water (probably will drink less because of the stomach ache and loose more because of the “runs” if i get you right). So its not the proper dehydratation response. You should get thirsty, and you can get cramps, and feel tired, fatigued maybe dizziness. But I don’t think that dehydratation explains your “runs”. Your “runs” may explain dehydration if you don’t compensate it properly.