Intermittent Fasting in Veterans?

I am 53 years old with a long history of cycling, running and swimming. I have just started the build period for this year. I tend to do some gravel races and Grand Fondos. Lately I have been experimenting with intermittent fasting on my days off (Monday and Friday) and the easy workout day on Wednesday. I am well aware that coach Chad and Nate promote a very high carb diet. This in my view is ok for younger riders who will have steady improvements in their FTP in years to come and are still sensitive to insulin.
For me age 53 I do not expect to see any significant improvements in FTP and training is as much about fun as it is about staying fit and maintaining my FTP. Furthermore I must think about my long term health and being a Medical Doctor myself I think a high carb diet is probably not the best choice for older people. Intermittend fasting has worked well in the first few weeks and I can hit all my numbers and intervals. I train first thing in the morning fasted and refuel afterwards with oat meal and some protein powder. On the easy days I fast after dinner the night before until lunchtime the following day (18 hours fast) and then eat plenty and only healthy food during a six hour window. I do not need to loose weight (176cm, 66kg)
I would be interesting to know if any TR users in my age group have experimented with such an approach.

1 Like

I’m 64 and came back to cycling in my late 40’s. Former gym rat so I’m a bit heaver than your average cyclist and train first thing in the morning after coffee. Been Paleo for the last few years. I go 16/8 with my food with a bit more protein than suggested for average Paleo diet.