Indoor trainer pain

I’ve been riding for approximately 2 years and I am generally pain free riding outdoors.
This includes periods of load of up to 400km per week and crit racing. I have had a bike fit within the last 12 months and feel like my position is good.

My problem occurs when riding on a trainer. Everytime I try, I suffer pain in my feet, ankles, achilles and knees.

I have just started a training block on traineroad and can feel the same issues creeping in again - it progressively gets worse.

I feel like I may be tensing my whole lower leg and this is causing torque from the feet through to the knee.
The feet, ankle and achilles feel like strain while the knee is painful below and under the patella.

I’m trying to determine if my pedaling technique changes indoors and if any drills or cues can solve this.
Is it possible I’m excessively ankling on the trainer?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

1 Like

What is your setup??

Have you explored rocker plates?

Currently on a tarmac with speedplay pedals on elite direto trainer.

Have experienced same issue on different bikes/trainers and with Shimano pedals.

I haven’t tried a rocker plate, but could potentially help.

Have you read any of Kelly Sturrett’s books? Chad recommends him on the podcast from time to time and he has a completely different way of thinking about moving, joints, muscles, self maintenance etc. I have gained some great benefit from using a voodoo floss band and I wonder if there might be some maintenance that would benefit you as well.

1 Like

I haven’t read any of the books but definitely something I will look into.

Maintenance will no doubt help manage the injury, but I’m hoping prevention may be possible.

Being locked into place isn’t normal. I often get hands falling asleep and a sore butt that I don’t get out on the road.

My indoor training is going to increase this fall due to covid19 so I’m going to look into rocker plates.