I have a dream and I want it to become reality

Hello,

I am a 21 year old male from Belgium who has been riding bikes his whole life, but I only started riding seriously 2 years ago.
I currently weigh 63 kg (@180 cm) and my 20 minute pb is 330 watt (5.23 w/kg)(10-15 hours/week on average at this point).

Here is my dream: I want to hit 6 w/kg for 20 minutes (380w).

Do you think this is possible and if so, how should I approach training for such a big goal?
What would be a realistic timespan? 6 months, 1 year, 5 years … ?
I am used to doing hard intervals, but I have never followed a real trainingplan.

I am currently not (yet) subscribed to Trainerroad, but I am doubting whether Trainerroad is the right platform for this.

Greetings,
Lukas

P.S. sorry for my bad english

1 Like

Why?

Because some of the most prestigious kom’s in Belgium require this or even more. I want to be competitive at them.

2 Likes

I like TR. I think you should give it a shot. I would say you might be looking at a year, or less. BUT, I am not an expert. I am guessing with your youth on your side and a lack of specific training, that you will likely benefit from a specific plan.

Will you be doing the training indoors or outdoors? I feel that there is some benefit to doing indoor training as it makes it easier to focus on the goal. However, there is also the benefit of being out in the real world too for your workout.

1 Like

It largely depends how committed you are and you’ve youth on your side. TR is probably good if you are really committed but a personal trainer would probably be better for such a lofty goal.

2 Likes

Personal trainer !!!

1 Like

I think it largely depends on your genetics to reach the upper levels of wattage but definitely give it a shot! All the fun is in the trying.

The right platform for you is probably a really good coach if you have very ambitious goals otherwise you might spin your wheels for several seasons while you learn to train and self coach yourself.