I can not finish VO2max workout

I am a rookie biker. I use TR training from 2022/08.

I can feel I am stronger during the base phase, build phase. And my FTP increases from 134 to 186 now.

But I am feel tired in the “Specialty base - Climbing Road Race”. It’s a lot of VO2max workout. I can do my best to finish the workout in the first 2 weeks. But the heart rate will keep on very high around 180 to 189. It almost keep on my Max HR.

Today I fail at Old Rag+6. It’s a 3x5 with 110% ftp.

I think maybe VO2max workout is my weakness. Should I keep on the specialty base schedule? Can I growing up even I failed the workout?

Can any one give me a suggestion or tips?
Many thanks.

• 35 years old
  • Max HR 190
  • Resting HR 50
  • FTP 186
1 Like

A progression level of 7.1 is pretty high. The adaptive system should detect this workout as failed and will adapt to lower VO2max level that will be easier.
How did you mark the previous workouts? Did you mark them very hard or all-out? It’s important to be honest when the workouts are getting too hard.

3 Likes

Last week
3/14 (Tue.) VO2max level 6.9 (all out / other)
3/16 (Thu.) VO2max level 6.7 (very hard)

This week
3/21 (Tue.) VO2max level 7.7 (all out / other)
3/23 (Thu.) VO2max level 7.1 (all out / Training fatigue)

Next week
3/28 (Tue.) VO2max level 5.3
3/30 (Thu.) VO2max level 5.9

This week training level is increasing than last week. Is it possible I choose the “very hard” on 3/16? On 3/16, I think I can finish the workout event the HR is targeting 186. So, I select the “very hard” instead of “all out”.

In my experience, VO2 max training is tired than SST or Tempo. I can’t clearly determine “very hard” or “all out”.

Along with the other advice given, consider trying harder to maintain a high cadence across each interval. As your cadence drops, you start recruiting larger and larger motor units to meet the increased torque demands, and those fibres will be relatively less well aerobically trained.

5 Likes