How to choose a road bike?

How on earth do you go about choosing a road bike?

A little background: I’ve been training for about 3-4 years, and race triathlon. I mostly train on my TT bike, but for a variety of reasons am thinking it’s time to buy a nice road bike. I love in a rural area and really don’t have access to demoing nice bikes.

I can get my head wrapped around a lot of the selection points - i know I want something I could eventually road/crit race on. I know I want disc brakes. I know I want electronic shifting. But that describes like 100 different bikes. Once you get that far, how the hell do you pick between this, that, and the other thing?

I can’t help because I don’t really keep tabs on what’s on offer… to others help you though, you should probably elaborate on your reasons for wanting a road bike, and your budget.

I guess general riding- groups rides, chasing KOMs, etc - with the ability to race something other than tt’s

Budget is pretty flexible, let’s say 4-7k.

Go to a fitter that has a fit bike. Figure out what geometry you need. Have him give you a couple options in your price range that can be set up correctly. Test ride a couple of them. But the one you like.

5 Likes

I like this suggestion a lot: most people buy a bike and then a fitter has to work around a frame that perhaps does not fit properly or sports a geometry that isn’t ideal for the rider.