Help me buy bike stuff!

So, forgive the total noob question here, but that’s what I am, a total beginner.

Last August while recovering from ACL surgery, I bought a cheap road bike for rehab purposes. As is probably the case with many people here, one thing led to another and before you know it I was riding with my local group 3x a week and loving it. After a couple of good drop rides, I decided to try to get into racing this upcoming year. I bought a used tacx vortex, and am using trainer road with good results (almost 80w ftp increase so far!)

But, my bike isn’t great. It’s got an older 10 speed 105 groupset, so not too terrible there, but I suspect the frame is not good. It’s a fitwell degroot like this one Fitwell Degroot II Alex- Pictures, and initial thoughts - Bike Forums .

Realistically, I can probably spend 1000-1500 on either upgrades or a new bike this spring. Knowing that I want to hit the cat 5 races, keep up the group rides, and save more money for a cyclocross bike, (looks like so much fun!) what would the more experienced cyclists out there recommend? Upgrades? A better bike from scratch? Wait and save some more to increase my limit?

The only thing is, I think I would like another set of wheels before racing, but again, might just be my inexperience talking there.

Upgrading is a great way to waste money unless you really really know exactly what you want. It’s way cheaper to buy a complete bike (ask me how I know :wink:). Current 105 equipped biked like the Specialized Allez Sprint are a great deal and the 105 of today is not going to hold you back in any way shape or form. So don’t get caught up thinking you need top shelf everything because that’s what you see.

Fitness is king. Fit allows you to exploit your fitness. Everything else is extra. The frame being one of the least important. Tires/tubes, wheels/hubs, group, frame in that order for me.

3 Likes