How to adapt MTB Marathon to improve climbing abilities

tldr: What can I do within my planned workouts to get better at climbing? Just slow down my cadence and grind?

I’m 34, 6’ 6", 220 lbs, and training for the Tahoe Trail 100 in Mid July. Decided to get back into the race scene after 10 years off and I’m new to structured training. Started the MTB Marathon plan 1/1/23.

My A race is a long way away, but I’ve been doing some B races for fun and the climbs kill me. I can push the pace on the flats with a naturally high cadence, but when thing turn uphill I can’t keep up.

So here are my questions…

Am I on the right plan for my ~6hr climbing heavy race in July?

Do I just slow down my cadence from high 90s to 60s during the workouts to gain strength and simulate climbing?

Do I just need more gears on my bike?

Add weight training?

All of the above?

It’s possible you need better gearing. But it’s impossible to say without knowing your current gears.

It could be beneficial doing some intervals at a lower cadence. Just be careful cause 60 is pretty low and some people get knee or other joint discomfort from lots of low cadence work.

Also, if the issue is that you can’t keep up with other racers on the ups then that might just be inevitable to some degree. 6’6” and 220lb isn’t real overweight but you will be bigger than most people you race against. So gravity is not your friend. And unless you have big fitness to counter your size, the physics is just not on your side in those situations.

3 Likes

Yes, the MTB marathon plan is just right for you.

@mwglow15 is spot on: consider getting easier gearing, you should avoid grinding when possible. By default most bikes come with a 32-tooth chainring and a 10–50 (SRAM) or 10–51 cassette (Shimano).