How long should warmup actually take?

I’m new to structured training and joined TrainerRoad only three or four weeks ago. I’m starting with Sweet Spot Base.

In each ride, I’ve noticed that my body isn’t fully comfortable / in a groove spinning at 90 RPMs for the first 15 to 20 minutes of the ride (usually, right about the time the sweat really gets going).

Should I be warming up longer to get to this spot before getting to the “meat” of each workout? As it is, the included warmup (which usually runs about 5-10 minutes) is a good thing, but would I be better off doing another 5 to 10 minutes?

Also, is this weird? It was never this way with running / rowing. I was usually a 2 to 5 minute warmup person.

Finally, I think it’s worth saying two things:

1. Thanks for having this forum. While I don’t really post, I read it a lot. It is super helpful, and the community seems to generally want to help each other. It’s great.

2. I have a Whoop Strap. I don’t work for Whoop or have any connection to it. But I did want to say it has been very helpful. Its strain / recovery measurements / recommendations help me with the cycling training. It can accurately predict my relative performance and how I will feel during the workout. A couple of times, I’ve moved harder rides a day or two based on that info. It also replaced my Wahoo Tickr X. I’ve worn both at the same time, and the numbers are basically the same. I highly recommend it to anyone.

Will

3 Likes

Warm-up time is fairly individual. Age, training history, current fatigue, available time and the particular workout ahead can all be factors.

As a 45 yo, I often use the “Extend Warm-up” feature in the app to add 5-10 mins of easy spinning, especially if I have a hard Threshold or higher workout ahead.

Comments on the cast point to a range around 10-30 minutes for warm-up. The time and specific warm-up vary as mentioned above.