Hood/brake position

Apologies if this has been previously addressed, but I recently watched a Vegan Cyclist video and noticed that his hoods/brakes were both tilted inward relative to the typical 90 degree orientation with respect to bar.

Not sure if this is an ergonomic or aerodynamic adjustment, but it does strike me that my wrists often feel like they’re in a non-anatomic configuration when resting in the hoods.

Anybody else using a non standard hood position with good effect?

1 Like

It’s a pretty common setup these days. Main driver is that it enables a better aero hoods position - I.e. When your hands are on the hoods your arms are narrower, and when you drop your forearms to be horizontal they naturally rest on the bar tops which makes it a more comfortable and sustainable position.

5 Likes

Yup, I’ve been offering rolled in hoods to my customers for a couple years now. Most really like it for pure comfort. A couple people said that single change was worth the price and time for the fit. :stuck_out_tongue:

The faux aero position is great and something I personal use a bunch on my road bikes. Super easy to try and you can test a range of angles to find what feels best.

3 Likes

Just look at how your wrists are turned in and forearm pronated naturally at rest. Hence why turning in hoods lets you keep this position.

Fit I had years ago did it and I’ve always kept it. Now that I’m a PT it makes more sense

1 Like

This is why I can’t understand to this day why MTB went away from bar ends….I don’t often ride a MTB anymore, but when I do, I find the bars extremely uncomfortable after awhile.

Hell, back in the day when riser bars were popular, I still ran bar ends (even though it looked like absolute dog poop).

Don’t even get me started on the width.

1 Like