High heart rate while running-Beginner

Hi!
I’m a 26 year old male who’s been running for the last 5-6 weeks according to the ‘virtual running mate’ program on Spotify. I’m a total noob to running and my whole life my endurance level isn’t that good, I’ve always done more explosive sports.

While I’m running my heartrate goes up to 180 BPM and stays there even though I’m going at a 6:30 min/km pace, I feel like I cannot go physically slower than that. During the ‘walking phases’ my heartrate goes down to 120-130 after a minute or 2. I cannot have a conversation as well during the running intervals btw.

Now my question is: do I have to start walking when my heart rate goes to high and start jogging again when it’s in a proper heart rate zone, or do I have to continue what I’m doing? There is a lot of conflicting advice on this topic.

Seiler would say you start walking before you get you <3 so high. and try to spend 1 hour or more in lower HR… After few weeks of adaptation (6-8?) you should get faster for the same HR.
It could also possible that your run economy is really bad (maybe too tense in the upper body, maybe other) and for that reason your <3 is too high

1 Like

100%….nothing wrong with the run/walk method. I used it successfully to finish 2 Ironmans and qualify for the IM 70.3 Worlds.

You don’t even have to do it based on HR…run a mile, walk a minute. Or if you are still building fitness, run 1/2 mile, walk a minute. Over time, you extend the run phase. Do what works for you and your fitness will increase.

4 Likes

How are you measuring HR? I always find that unless my watch strap is quite tight it’ll read >160BPM instead of 130BPM while i’m just trotting along at 8:30 per mile.