Beginner runner, High heart rate

I am 44 years old and tend to run a slightly higher heart rate than my peers when I cycle indoor / outdoor but I think within an acceptable range. It is more consistently high rather than huge spikes.

I have recently started running here and there (just a few) but my pace despite being slow (10km/hr) results in a 175 average night rate over 5-10km (my max HR is 192 I think) Is this simply because I am new to running? I have never really ran distances other than impact sport (rugby) and am quite heavy at 94kg / 185cm. I intend to run more frequently / consistently so hopefully that will result in this tracking down. At present it makes training with zones near impossible. As my marathon pace is the same as my 5k pace (almost!). Or perhaps I am expecting too much of my running due to my cycling capacity rather than starting at a jog / walk. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Slow it down, 10km/h might seem slow but it is obviously still making you work. Do intervals, 0.5km at the 10km/h pace then as gentle a jog / fast walk as you can for the next 0.5km and repeat a few times. Add to either distance, pace or longer intervals one at a time to build yourself up.

You say marathon pace and 10km pace - if you are just starting running IMHO you should be doing 3 or so 5km slow runs a week with intervals at first to avoid injury.

The fitness from being a cyclist generally translates to being able to run fast and far due to the aerobic capacity, but that itself is where you can end up injuring yourself by using that fitness on muscles, ligaments and tendons that are not matched to the output.

When you say ‘175 average night rate’ do you mean after a run your HR is 175 overnight? If so I would see a medical professional straight away just for peace of mind. That sounds very unusual and I hope it is a typo!