High Cadence drills

I’m new to TR so it’s most likely my fault and understanding of how it all works but I’m doing an A level event in May next year which is all climbing. It’s the only event I’m aiming for presently.
TR has built a plan, 3 times a week indoor training plus a 3hr outdoor on Saturday. My FTP I’ve set at 250 which is on the conservative side.
All the workouts so far seem to be aiming for high cadence drills of 85/90/95 and above. I’m surprised because when climbing on an outdoor ride I’d be at a cadence of around 60rpm out of the saddle and in the highest gear. No workout segments so far have been above FTP.
Is there a leaning towards higher cadence just below FTP on TR than in reality where I’d be pushing 400w up a hill not spinning at 235w or should I be trying to spin up hills more in real life. I’m a bit confused tbh as it’s not what I do in reality.
Thanks

There’s a role for being able to handle a range of cadences, but it’s not that important (unless you’re getting into low cadence muscular endurance or high cadence VO2Max intervals).

Depends how long the hill is - with a 250W ftp and pushing 400W, I hope it’s pretty short.

Ha ha yes I see what you mean. Yes the hill would be incredibly short at 400w. I think the point I’m making is however long or steep the hill is I’ve never found myself spinning at anything greater than 60rpm and producing under FTP. I’m always off the saddle grinding my way up with low cadence and higher wattage. Is that wrong?

1 Like

Maybe, depends on you and the event. Slow cadences are easier on cardio endurance but harder in muscular endurance, and vice-versa

1 Like

Seems like you are talking about short/steep climbs - which to me would be more about anaerobic abilities – rolling road race style.