Help me get AERO (w/ numbers & pics)

Hi all,

Weight lifter turned cyclist here, I’ve been cycling for about two years now and now I’m chasing performance. Position on the bike is what was recommended to me using a Retul Fit system last year (Aug 2020) and a physio. No issues with my current fit except I feel like I could get some low hanging aero gains here. I’m coming back from a terrible off season so I’m trying to get the easiest marginal gains I can.

Info about myself (Currently at 171cm, 79kg @ 222w :sob:). I have no previous injuries aside from general low flexibility from years of weight lifting. My rides range from 2-5 hrs normally.
Bike Fit results below (Only change is a 90mm stem):

Bike is a 52cm Vitus Vitesse Evo. 400mm bars w/ 170mm cranks. Bike measurements Below:

Here are some pics of my position:
Apologies for the low res, had to use my old laptop while I wait for a new webcam on the desktop.

Hoods:

Aero Hoods:

Drops:

Invisible Tri:

Video of me pedaling:

What are my options?

1. Play around with a longer stem to see if I can hold the position?
  2. Try slamming the stem to get lower?
  3. Work on my flexibility?

Def option 3 and I’d supplement with option 4. Leave your well done fit alone and train more. You’ve got a ton of power to gain and IMO it’s not worth slamming stems and messing with a properly done fit in order to try and gain a little aero advantage when you’ve got way more room to grow in other areas

Your fit looks fine, honestly. Maybe could go a bit longer but I wouldn’t even bother right now.

2 Likes

Definitely leaning towards option 3 (bonus that it’s free :grin:). Do you have any suggested resources regarding improving my mobility?

Now that I’m looking at it a bit more, thoughts on a more aero helmet?