Having trouble with long tempo and sweet spot intervals

Folks,

I’m not on TR, but I figured I would ask here since there’s a good concentration of training knowledge. All my cycling career, I’ve tended to be a very good breakaway rider, so on Sufferfest, my 4DP score shows 1min intervals as my strength and threshold as a relative weakness. I decided to do some structured training to address that.

I’ve been finding 3x15 or 2x20 threshold intervals to be very challenging to complete. I am guessing that I may need to keep at it a while - time to exertion is related to but separate from FTP, and I need to work on this bit. Am I on base?

By way of background, I was a cat 3 way back when. I’ve had ups and downs, but currently in decent shape. I got my FTP up to 228W this winter. I have about 20 years cycling experience, but I haven’t really got into structured training before, and I haven’t deliberately sought out long durations at sweet spot or FTP.

Been doing these for about 4 years now.

Few things that helped me along the way:

• Correct FTP
  • Breath control / relaxing
  • Nice high cadence (for me, some where around 95rpm takes the edge of pushing the pedals)
  • Nice smooth pedalling technique
  • Mentally & physically breaking the intervals up. For e.g for 15 mins do 5 min in drops, 5 min on hoods, 5 min on bars.
10 Likes

What system are you using to set you FTP? A pure tempo effort you should be able to hold with some focus for several hours and a pure SS effort for about an hour with a lot of focus. If you are unable to hold it, it suggests to me your FTP might be too high. Some people for instance excel at a ramp test as they have good MAP but it overpredicts their FTP.

1 Like

I’m using the shorter 20 minute FTP test as programmed in Zwift.

1 Like

Your ftp is overestimated. You should at the very least be able to do 60min tiz without much difficulty. I did 2x60 sweet spot today, it’s achievable with a correctly set ftp

2 Likes