Giant Conduct brake system rant

Hi all,

So even though I’ve owned my bike for over a year now, I’m just learning about the issues with Giant’s conduct hybrid braking system. First off, I learned I cannot change my stem length without buying a brand new conduct master cylinder. Since they cylinders are not sold separately, I need to spend $200+ to buy the whole brake system.

Second, my brakes have started to get pretty squishy and I wanted too see if I needed to bleed it. To do that, I will need to purchase a proprietary brake servicing kit for $65+ and it’s pretty complicated to do myself.

Lastly, for some reason which I don’t quite understand, having Conduct brakes means you can only fit 140mm brake rotors. I’m taking part in a gran fondo with lots of climbing and descending, I’m 215lbs so I was hoping to get 160mm brake rotors for more solid braking but I guess that’s not going to happen.

I’m OK with things being proprietary if they make the bike better, I just wish something so critical to the function of the bike wasn’t phased out in a year. 2018 was the last year they used the conduct system as Shimano released the R7000 105 with hydraulic disc brakes, which means having to service or replace the master cylinder will likely get more expensive.

I dont know if it’s changed, but I had a 2017 Contend with the Conduct, and I had no problem using other stems with the bike. I tried several and the bolt pattern always lined up fine.

Again, maybe they changed it, but I believed its either TRP or Tektro that make it for Giant and their normal bleed kits work. I put over 3000 miles on mine and they never had an issue.

I have the bleed manual in my Google drive. I can send you if you want it.

2 Likes