Fuji-san hill climb training

Hello all
I am new to this training I just started TR with plan builder starting with SSB I and II followed SPB then with climbing road race all low volume. before the race. I am 6 ft at 200lbs 43yr old male with first FPT test at 279.

The race is is 24km with 1255m of gain with 5.2% average with max of 7.8% grade. Last year untrained it took me just over 2 hrs. (pro’s at just under an 1hr).

I have a B race one month before Haruna hill climb 16.1km with 907m of gain, with 6% average with a max of 14% grade. Last year I did it in 1hr 15 min (pros are at 45 min)
Haruna

My what is the right specialty plan and where to go for pacing tips
Thanks

2 Likes

This sounds fun if coming the other way (down) - when is it?

Last year is was about 45 deg F and light rain so not so fun once at the start line I could not stop shivering.

What time of year?
How do you train for hills in Kisarazu? My imagination is that Kisarazu is very flat.

The race is first week of JuneFujiHC, central Chiba is very hilly if I wanted I could do 5000 m of climbing without repeat hill in a 4 hr ride. With the local bike shop racing club we have a few loops that in two hr ride we get 1000m of climbing.

1 Like
Time limit 	3 hours 10 minutes

ha, rules me out.

Participation fee 13,500yen

This seems a little steep?

1 Like

All the race’s here have gone up due to the consuption tax. and you can just do the ride at any time durring the summer with just paying the road toll.

That looks like an epic and fun hill climb!

As a side note, what is it like to ride around Hakone and Fuji areas ? It looks amazing on the map.

1 Like

Generally the roads are good here well maintained, with courteous drivers, this is a place to ride good roads great sites. The issue I have is I’m fat and slow and all my Japanese friends were born on bikes so I can never keep up.

Thank you! I’d love to bring my bike over and ride there some day.