FTP tanked - why?

Basically, I’ve had a drop of 60 w in FTP over the course of six weeks. Context: I trained fairly consistently over the summer for a 650 km audax that I did in early September. After the audax I took some time off cycling, had some work commitments during which time I did only a few rides, and then in early October I moved to a different town for a 3-month fellowship. The riding here is great, but really hilly. My last FTP test in late August came out at 233 w. I just started training consistently again (on a polarised plan) and my most recent test came out at 174 w. Yikes. That’s the lowest I’ve ever recorded. I don’t think the test was ‘wrong’ either because I’ve found the TR workouts since then appropriately challenging. Initially I thought it’s just because I was fatigued from starting training again and from all the hills here, but my legs have settled down. My RHR has been unusually high, but I don’t feel stressed (the fellowship is a nice gig) and I don’t feel sick. So what’s going on here?

maybe stupid to ask… but did you recalibrate your trainer after you moved?

3 Likes

What testing protocol are you using, the Ramp test with ERG ? Ramp tests are fine for 85% of the population and have the benefit of introducing relatively little TSS into your program (you should be able to test one day and workout at that level again the next etc). However, for 7.5% of the population they underestimate. They seem to for me and I think ERG also restricts me. I get far better results from a 20min tests, even a badly mispaced one will exceed the ramp result for me and if I get the pacing right a 20min test will far outperform a ramp test for me. Beside the difficulty pacing element though, the major drawback of the 20mins test for me is it does introduce excess TSS into your calendar.

1 Like