Fitness going up while FTP decreases?

Hi all, I have a question about my fitness improving despite FTP seemingly dropping, particularly through the base-build-specialty plans with AT at the helm ahead of this cyclocross season. I started training again back in May after a stressful two months off. I’ve been through MVSSB2, MV Short Power Build and now onto MV CX Specialty using AT. It’s the first time I’ve completed a Short Power Build phase without burning out, honestly.

My summer’s experience:
-ramp test set my FTP at 266W for MVSSB2, stormed through PLs as fitness came back.
-tested at 310W when starting Short Power Build, PLs got zeroed out, and completed block successfully.
-gave myself an extra week off from being rundown (new puppy, poor sleep) before starting Build 2.
-Ramp test dropped me down to 302W, PLs mostly unchanged, I stuck with this lower FTP and felt my fitness continue to improve.
-Ramp test at the start of Specialty phase wanted to drop me down another 10-15W. I ignored this recommended FTP change and completed the first week’s two VO2max workouts without issue. RPE was low, HR was high.

I’m not quite sure what would explain my perceived fitness going up, but FTP going down. I’ve slept and eaten well since the extra recovery week, haven’t dropped weight drastically, and have nailed pretty much every workout. Could it be that despite improving my VO2 capacity, my base is falling away due to the relatively short five week block and preceding two-month hiatus from riding and training? Or am I just testing poorly, and the fitness is still building?

Any insight appreciated!

Might be just bad luck with the ramp test on a particular day. As I understand it is calculating FTP directly from your wattage during the last blocks of the test. I use 20 min tests and have definately had some bad tests which haven’t correlated with my actual FTP.