Etape du tour training plan

Hi all,

I did the etape du tour last year and came around 3000th. I was probably fit enough to do better but nutrition and cramp were an issue on the day. I’ve entered this year and want to do better but am not in great shape right now.

My training last year was fairly random. I started training in April and I did one weekend ride basically every weekend from April to July getting gradually longer each weekend, starting from around 70km and with my longest being around 175k. I also did on average 1 morning ride a week before work doing Laps of regents Park in London in chain gangs - these would normally be around 60-80km at 240-270w. This was on top of commuting 10k each way to and from work in Central London which obviously doesn’t give much training benefit. I think my average TSS according to stravistix/elevate ended up being around 500 per week for a few months before the etape in late July.

I tested my power in late June 2019 and held 340w for 20 mins at 75kg, which I was quite happy with. Unfortunately I let that all go over winter after a crash and being busy with work so I’m basically untrained right now. I bought a smart trainer and a subscription to trainer Road out of panic. I did a ramp test this week which estimated my Ftp at 260w at 80kg, so I’m basically back to where I was last April.

I’ve been looking at the plans on trainer Road and they don’t look right for me. I can’t get on the turbo 5 days a week as I only stay at my house with my turbo around 3 days a week, so the high volume century plan is out of the question. The low volume plan looks more reasonable for me but I think I would want to add a long endurance ride each weekend as I can’t see how doing 4hrs a week on a turbo across 3 sessions would prepare me for a 175km ride with 3500m of climbing.