ERG impossible but Resistance manageable

Hello everyone,

I did Mount Deborah today (7x3min @ 105-09% FTP w/ 4 minute rests btw intervals). I’ve been doing TR for about two years and I can just tell you I could never have finished that workout on ERG. My legs and lungs would’ve blown up. But lately, I’ve been using resistance mode and did so today as well. I found the workout vigorous but entirely manageable. In fact, it was (almost) fun. There was never a question of quitting, TR says I hit all the numbers and my HR never got above 86% MAX. So I’m just wondering if more seasoned riders can explain what’s happening and whether I should care.

Thanks.

I can finish a w’o in ERG but I’ve had to drop my FTP a bit to do so. With an ERG ramp I struggle to 250w (my last test was sub 230w) but in a non ERG 20mins test I can always do 250w+ and if I get my pacing right I can get an FTP of 280w :thinking:

Right. What’s up with that?

I have similar experiences. When I’m doing above threshold intervals, I often find resistance better, but not ‘easier’. My theory is this: when you are above threshold, if you drop below your target for say 5-10 sec, erg says you need to pedal harder so it ups the resistance. Instead of gettin that short ‘micro recovery’ you are forced to push harder, when you would have just brought it back up on your own. You end up getting a bunch of small ‘erg death spirals’ and they eventually catch up to you.

Another advantage of rest for supra-threshold is that if you just don’t have it that day you can push it at whatever you do have, say 97% without erg crushing you.

3 Likes

There’s a few possibilities here: