Endurance block instead of a recovery week

Just curious if any of you have followed up your 3rd and biggest week with an endurance block of similar hours but no intensity instead of a regular recovery week. My past week was 14.5 hrs and ~900 TSS with about 9 hrs of riding outside and the rest inside. I was thinking of doing some 2-3 hr easier (60-70 FTP) rides and getting in about 9 hrs or so. If so, any thought/warnings? Thanks for any help.

First question, why?

What do you hope to gain vs following the planned recovery week?

How will this change impact your subsequent week(s) of training?

1 Like

Thx for the reply. I’ve been trying to polarize my training, with lower intensity and longer rides interspersed between harder interval days. The results have been good; I’m fresher for the HARD sessions and recovery between bouts has really improved. I’m prepping for 'cross season and the thinking is that I have the time now (I’m a teacher, so off) to build up an aerobic base and bump up CTL to set me up for the higher intensity and CTL draining weeks down the road. This is an experiment, so I’m not sure how it will affect next week, but I can ride in the morning and then chill the rest of the day.

1 Like

I would say this is more or less a recovery week. Just skip at least one hard session if you made two by default. If you make normally one, just make less repetitions or skip entire HIIT session.

Is always a good idea to start into the CX season with a good aerobic base. Due to weather and light is hard even hard to maintain the aerobic base. At least here we also have a tight race schedule with a race on most weekends.

1 Like

Isn’t this similar to what the plans already do? Recovery weeks aren’t that big a drop in hours (seems to be ~10-20% in the plans I just took a quick look at), but it’s all endurance level riding so TSS drop is more significant.