DOMS and getting in the gym

is it possible to avoid gym doms by building up slower over a few weeks? my last forray in the gym began with a 7 day paralysis, struggling with the toilet seat squat :man_facepalming:

1 Like

I’m new to strength training. I’ve tried a few different things over the years and always found the same issue no matter the program or speed…your body has to get used to the movement first…then you’ll work on actual strength training.

So, if your goal is to build leg strength through squats and lunges, you can go as slow as you want but at some point you have to get the movement to be the full range of motion…and that’s it’s own set of DOMS.

If your body isn’t used to locking out the arms for an overhead motion, you’ll experience that DOMS feeling until you’ve got the range of motion needed to lock out the arm.

Once you get past the range of motion issues, I do feel it’s possible to strength train without DOMS, but your progress will be slower. YMMV and many will disagree with me, but this has been my experience.

2 Likes

You’ve got to go lift and feel like you did practically nothing and then you’ll only have a little bit of DOMs that won’t take 7 days to get over. You probably have to do that for a month or two or more. It’s going to take more than a couple weeks.

2 Likes

In my experience you have to start very easy. As AJS914 mentioned you have to feel like you did pretty much nothing. I started with no more than 30lbs on any machine and did 3 sets of 8 reps on each of the exercises I chose to do that would form my overall workout. I did that for two weeks before upping the weight by 5 lbs for another two weeks. I just kept following that routine until I had maxed out most of the machines over a fairly long time.
I follow this same procedure any time I have a break from the gym of more than 3 to 4 weeks. How much I lower the weight depends on how long the break is.

1 Like