Disaster : how fit should you be to participate?

Disaster looks like a great challenge, but I’m wondering if I’m fit enough to try it (or if I will be)

Just like with computers, what would you say minimum requirements are ?

What about for the lighter, shorter versions of Disaster ?

It’s not a good idea to do it at all, generally.

2 Likes

I did a COVID-isolation week that included Rockhouse, Disaster, Cartago, and Cathedral. In hindsight it was basically an indoor training camp. Anyway, that week was 1,000 TSS and I had been averaging 450-500 TSS per week heading into it. I found Rockhouse more challenging than Disaster, but I had been doing General Build and Sustained Power Build leading into that week.

If you want to work your way “up” to Disaster, there are -1 and -2 versions that you could try first. How is your fitness base? What is your longest ride indoors so far? Which workout was it? What is your nutrition plan? Which TR plan are you following?

Oh I’m fairly new to all that. I started Base I low volume in June and I’m starting Base II this week, at low volume but with 4hours outdoor per week on top of that.

My FTP is 152, which is low (2.3 w/kg), but up from 139 when I started !

I’d say my max is 2hours on the bike outdoors (50km) and I stick to the 90 minute workouts max from base plan

I m aware it’s out of my comfort zone (I’m 43 and a beginner, but eager to learn and ride faster), but was wondering by how much exactly

1 Like

For sure, start with Disaster -2. It is actually a decent workout on it’s own, and can give you a taste of the progression in the larger ones.

They are not “easy”, but the “hard” parts are mostly centered on the VO2 section and the Sprint/Sweet Spot section.

2 Likes

Hmm, if your longest ride has been 2 hours I’d probably go for one of the minus versions- at this stage increasing your mileage by >50% would be challenging even without those kinds of efforts.