Criterium race strategy

Hello everyone, first post here on TR forum. I started training last September on the bike with a base FTP of 190W @ 73 KG (I am 5ft5). Now, 6 months later, I am heading to the summer with a 300W FTP @ 62kg. With this huge improvement I decided I wanted to compete in few local criteriums this summer. However, after watching a lot of race analysis on youtube, I realized that my physiology is not really suited for crits since my absolute power is not that high.

Therefore, do you guys have any ideas of race strategy that would suit my physiology best that would give a shot at winning?

Regards,

J-C

Your power is fine. Enter some races. Have fun. Try a couple different strategies. Experiment. You’ll figure it out what’s optimal later.

3 Likes

300W is not a low FTP – it’s definitely solid and respectable. Coach Jonathon has a ~300 FTP and he races crits all the time.

The only problem is your weight – on a flat course you could get blown around a bit. But on a hilly course you would have a HUGE advantage.

I would say to train your short power, sit in and catch a draft and see how it goes.

Have fun!

1 Like

4.8w/kg, go race!

The best strategy I can think of is to go race, try, learn, race again. Strategy often goes out the window in the heat of the moment.
There’s a podcast episode (if I can easily find the ep# I’ll post it here) which discusses a very very light rider and some race strategies they might choose to employ.
Put yourself out there and see what happens, then do it again and again. It sounds like these would be your first crit races - if so, I think your main limiter might be bike handling in groups and putting yourself into position.

Otherwise, you could always just go to the same races that Nate does and sit in his draft until the sprint. :wink:

2 Likes

Don’t die.

2 Likes