Comfortable office chairs

As I sit here sore from pushing too hard over the weekend I was thinking that this chair isn’t so comfortable when my legs are worn out and I’m less picky when not worn out. So was wondering, does anyone have opinions for good office chairs for those of us who sit at a computer all day (I’m a software engineer)

Thanks

I spent (wasted) months researching high end office chairs a decade ago. All the typical big names at the time. I settled on the Steelcase Leap which I still use today and am very happy with. Part of it was the limited options to test different models (had a local dealer with several of their models, all were very nice but the Leap stole the show).

The lack of being able to try chairs out is a big issue. And even then, a short time in the chair doesn’t mean much. The chair I’m having now from staples was comfy in the store but not so much any more. That was a high end chair for Staples, but thats not saying much, doesn’t seem like many stores carry high end chairs

I think I had a leap at a previous job and it was ok, maybe I should try the version with a headrest (I definitely want a headrest)

A friend in the office furniture business offered me an Allsteel #19 at cost when they first came out. 20 some odd years later it is still great. Have had various Steelcase and HermanMiller in work settings. All the good ones are pretty good.

Since my wife has permanently claimed the #19, am looking at the Mirra2 or Celle seats just to be different. Then she will steal it and I can have my 19 back :grinning:

1 Like

Yeah, a generous return policy is the only real way to handle the fact that “test drives” are well short of daily and weekly use. Good chairs are anything but cheap, and finding one that works for you is a bit like finding good bibs (there is no perfect solution for everyone).

My first new, nice bike was less than that chair :flushed:

2 Likes