Carbs At 90g Per Hour And Blood Sugar Crash

So I’ve been riding for many years as a weekend warrior type, and most of my rides have been fueled by a couple of bananas, a bagel or two, and whatever can be gathered at various stops along the way. A couple of years ago, I started structured training with TR, and my nutrition strategy was to keep doing what “worked” for me: Usually didn’t eat anything on the bike, and normal meals without a major increase in calories consumed. (“Hey look at all the weight I’m losing!” just before everything falls apart in week 2 of the build phase)

Anyway, I’ve started experimenting with really taking on carbs during workouts, and I’m doing about 90g an hour of Gatorade/maltodextrin mix. One thing I’ve noticed is that, while I’ve managed to keep just this side of stomach issues, I’ve been experiencing some pretty unpleasant post-workout side-effects that seem related to blood sugar (shakiness, sweaty palms, etc…) that seem to get resolved by, say, eating everything in the fridge as fast as possible.

I don’t have this reaction after some 90 min 1300kcal threshold workout if I just eat a banana beforehand and drink water. Is this something others have experienced, or is this a “run immediately to your doctor” things?

Thanks!

I think even 90g might not cover what you burn. Each gram should give you 4 calories (360 calories / hour) - at least according to my very superficial research. This means you still have a deficit of 700-800 calories after 90 minutes. Most of the energy comes from the carbs stored in your muscels and if you go into the workout more or less empty you still could run dry…

This is not medical advice and talking to a doctor is probably still a good idea.

1 Like

Do you have a medical condition that would make you think your having problems controlling your blood sugar? What are you eating when you get off the bike?

1 Like