Canyon H36 cockpit stem length wierdness

I’ve been riding medium sized Canyon Ultimates for a few years now. The first one had a 100mm stem and I used 3T ergonova bars. This worked fine.

Last year I bought a new frame with the integrated H36 cockpit. This was also a 100mm stem. Las year when I went for a bike fit the fitter raised his eyebrows somewhat at the reported stem length and reckoned it was effectively at least 120mm. Anyway, he said it was just about within my flexibility range.

I’ve measured the cockpit myself, and with reach taken into account, as far as I can tell it is definitely 120mm.

I’m only mentioning this today as I rode this bike for the first time in a few months yesterday and it killed my back. Pretty sure I’m going to swap it out now, which is a shame as it looks so cool…

So, is anyone else riding the H36, and do you find it too be a bit of a stretch?

Yeah, in my experience (Canyon Aeroad SLX 8.0), Canyon measures their stems shorter than they are. Don’t remember the exact numbers, but I think my bike came with a claimed 100mm stem, but it measured much closer to 110 c-to-c, not 100.

When I ordered a new integrated system (although not directly from Canyon), I had the same issue. The 110 measured more like a 120.

1 Like

I seem to recall something about Canyon measuring their integrated bar/stem setups differently than a two-piece setup. I have their V13 stem (110mm +/-6) and their H16 bars on my Aeroad 8.0 and I seem to recall if I had bumped up to the Di2/intergrated cockpit model it would’ve been roughly 10mm longer at the bars.

100mm?? The grey is the centreline of the bar…

Google Photos

Ive hadthe h36 for a couple of years now and alays thought the same, until I compared it to a regular bar stem combo.