Can I add volume via Z2 on my 'VO2 days'?

I’m in the second week of a training block and have a VO2 workout on Tuesday, but I want more volume, for better or for worse. I feel like I never see improvements unless I have a fairly high volume of training.

Will adding zone 2 to the end of a VO2 workout be detrimental to the adaptations we target in a VO2 workout, much like it would be to a strength workout? I assume it won’t, considering it’s still aerobic, but I haven’t been able to find much with Google.

I am fairly new to structured VO2 workouts after having quickly opted out of such suffering in the past. But, I feel like it’s a weakness I need to work on if I want to progress further, so I want to give it my full attention.

I abide by what a lot of pros do: go hard on hard days, go easy on easy days. Sometimes I mess up and I regret.

I would rather go harder on hard days, more VO2, harder VO2, add 1/2% intensity. But not zone 2 (unless you train purely for endurance and you want to ride more with cooked legs).

Rather, I would do more zone 2 on sweet spot or recovery days (e.g., tuesday in MV plans). But REALLY zone 2, not tempo or sweet spot.

1 Like

I’m on high volume Short Power Build and all my V02 workouts have scheduled z2 endurance at the end. This is a good way to add endurance and my only suggestion would be to ride this by feel not necessarily by intensity. Meaning most of the time this z2 is at the lower end of the zone to ensure it doesn’t negatively effect future workouts. If the z2 feels a bit uncomfortable then lower your power.

2 Likes

I think Coach Chad’s standard advice on the podcast on adding volume is to add 15 mins z2 at the end of a workout, and I don’t recall him differentiating between adding this to VO2Max workouts versus other types.