Building Blocks for CX in September

Hey All, new here but have been learning a lot from the discussion.

I am new to structured training and wrapping up my first block of SSB Mid Volume next week. Feeling really good and going to celebrate with a gravel race before kicking off the SSB 2.

At this point, my main goal is to do better in our local CX race series. Had a blast racing last year but didn’t really have the fitness and am pretty motivated to put in the time to get there. Not looking to peak for Nationals or a specific A race, more like chasing upgrade points and the overall series standings.

I am looking for some advice about how to approach a 12 race block over about 3 months, starting in September. I’ve got more than enough time for the base/base/build/specialty plan but am not sure exactly how to structure it. Sounds like I should be starting the CX Specialty about the same time as the season kicks off, does that match your experience? Any ideas about the most profitable way to spend the time between now and then?

Thank you

1 Like

I was in exactly the same position last year. I did base, then short power build then CX speciality ending about 2 months into my 5 month season. I only did low volume, and during the race season I moved the workouts around to avoid race weekends. This gave me a great boost in fitness and I got my first top 20 finish.

This year I’m doing sustained build early in the year, and some TTs just for a change, but I’ll be back on the same plan (mid volume this time) from about May.

1 Like

I’m unfamiliar with the TR CX plan, but have you considered race specific efforts on Tuesdays, then some solid tempo → sweet spot work on Wednesday, and roll into the races on the weekend? CX is so intense that you really just need to race and recover with some efforts (tabatas work) to stay sharp.
Also, do you lift weights? That will help your neuromuscular system stay healthy and sharp all season long.

excellent, thank you for the feedback