Bent spoke - would you replace?

Just noticed a small kink in one of the spokes on my wheels. At best guess, I thing something might have bounced into it on the weekend when I was riding in a fairly grotty cycle lane at speed. Would you replace? I don’t have a spoke tension meter but the sound of the ‘ping’ is similar to the other spokes under tension. I’m a fairly capable home mechanic but apart from some very basic truing, wheels are a mystery to me. Thanks in advance for any advice.

If the wheel is true, no, I wouldn’t.

2 Likes

I wouldn’t worry about it right away but I would replace it next time you have your tire off…Over time it is possible it could break.

2 Likes

That’ spoke isn’t doing anything and there are a few more likely that have an issue. You need to have the wheel serviced if it is economical. If you can see a kink in the spoke, there isn’t any tension on it to speak of.

Should you replace it? Probably not. It’s a wire with a light bend, and will go back to doing it’s job fine once you tension it. You may see a wave in there, but it’ll be fine. If the mechanic has a spoke handy that looks visually similar, go for it. If it’s round and silver, just pass.

2 Likes

Steel spokes can take quite a hit without losing integrity. I wouldn’t replace it, just check tension across all the spokes.

How many spokes a wheel has also affects things on the road. If a single spoke goes on a higher spoke count wheel you’ll likely still be able to ride on it, without it going much out if true. Low spoke count may mean it becomes unrideable. Disc brakes here help as well as even a wheel out of true if rideable if not hitting brakes and / or frame.

1 Like

I’ve had this since 2017 no issues. Wheel is true so no need to fix what ain’t broken

2 Likes