Balance between Cycling and Required Functional Fitness

Background: I’ve been cycling for six months and I have the goal of being a competitive cyclist mainly focused on road races and crits. In the past 6 months I’ve done several road races, crits and Gran Fondos and I’ve made significant gains in my FTP. Most importantly - I love to compete and the vibe I get from racing bikes is incredible.

My question is how to properly balance my cycling training with other physical requirements that I have?

My career is one that requires me to be strong, powerful, fast and have good endurance (jack of all trades). In the past 15 years, I’ve consistently trained to maintain a high level of functional fitness across all modalities. My normal training regime (pre-cycling) was 5 days of high intensity functional fitness focusing on Olympic lifts and fast, explosive movements and ESD (energy systems development) such that I could clean and jerk 275 pounds then run a 32 minute 5 mile immediately after. Given the requirement, the general goal was to be as strong as possible without gaining too much mass because that comes at the detriment of endurance activities. Generally I would conduct the lift in the morning at 6am, go about my work day, and then I execute my ESD in the afternoon before going home.

In the past 6 months, I have substituted cycling for my ESD and I have not yet felt as if I am getting close to over-training.

All this being said, I want to maximize my cycling gains. I come from a hyper competitive sports and work background so I want to do everything properly to increase my abilities as much as I can on the bike – fully acknowledging that I cannot sacrifice my other functional fitness requirements due to the importance of what they facilitate.

I just started Sweet Spot Base Mid Volume 1. Is there anything that I should adjust or change from the standard plan to ensure that I benefit from it as much as possible given the other physical requirements that I have?