AC Joint Separation & approach to training log

Hey all - posting this as I have been finding other people’s posts useful and maybe someone else will find my experience informative.

I am 39 year old guy, healthy, pretty active runner, cyclist, skier, and generally outdoorsy (multi day hike, canoe, etc). I’m a teacher and a dad of 2.

On Dec 26, 2022, I fell skiing. I am a strong skier and lost my edge at about 30 mph - went tumbling forward. Knew immediately that it was a bad crash but couldn’t tell what was wrong. Headed to patrol for ice and Advil and then drove to the ER for X-ray and eval. Initial x-ray revealed a substantial ac joint separation. PA read the x-ray and put me in a sling and advised I follow up with an orthopedist.

Made the Ortho appointment and did a ton of reading on Ortho bullets, Google scholar, watched PT videos, and read individual accounts on forums. My brother is a doctor and I sent him the stuff that felt useful and informative to get his perspective.

Icing a ton (I like icing it, it feels good), taking Advil, sleeping in the sling (with a small pillow under my arm), and generally avoiding use of my arm and hand.

On Wednesday, started trying some light physio movements. Started with pendulums, good arm assisted arm raising and reaching across my torso, and gentle shoulder rolling.

Saw the orthopedist on Friday, Dec 30th. With a few more X-rays he diagonsed it as ac joint separation grade 3/5. Essentially, I have the trauma of grade 3 but separation that is associated with grade 5. AC and CC ligaments are ruptured. However, my clavicle did not puncture it’s sheath or fascia.