3D Printed Parts

Anybody 3D printed their own parts like spacers or mounts? What software do you use to design? Any 3D printers recommended for $500 or less?

I printed a mount for my brother to use his Garmin Fenix as a computer before he bought his edge. Worked fine for the most part.

I use Solidworks but mostly because that’s what I do for my day job so I have free access to it on my work computer. I have a lot of experience with it - but not with complex surfaces. So simple shapes I can bang out real quick but if they have to have swoopy designs and be super aero it would take me a bit.

I have an Ender 3 at home. I think I paid like $180 for it and I’d say it’s a steal at that price for someone looking to get into it. I believe Microcenter has had the Ender 3 Pro for as low as $99 which is crazy. I’m far from an expert in it so I won’t give too much advice. If you just want to do simple stuff in PLA I don’t think you can beat the Ender. Up to $500 you can probably get some pretty awesome machines now. But depending on what you’re going for (useable bike parts vs mini figurines for example) you might want a different type of printer.

1 Like

I was actually just looking at this line. Amazon has the V2 for like $240. The Max was on sale for $260 on their website but out of stock. Is there much difference between the Pro and V2?

I’ve 3d printed spacers to fit my Yoeleo Handlebar on my frame that doesn’t have internal routing. I use
inventor daily and this only took about 30 min worth of work. Most of that was using calipers to measure the old vs new and then combining the two.

4 Likes

I think the V2 is better. It has the glass bed, upgraded screen and the quiet motor controls. If it’s in a dark corner of your basement then the noise won’t matter but if it’s somewhere you can hear it the V2 is considerably quieter. Those are all upgrades you can do to the regular Ender or Pro but it looks like the price is close enough to not really matter that much.