1h z1 ride or passive recovery

Hello,

I am doing 9h30 a week on the trainer during winter/ 14 outside during the summer. I started training almost everyday 2 years ago and I have a good fitness in my humble opinion. I used to have a full day off a week but I replaced it by 1h z1 ride on the trainer.

I like riding and It is not difficult for me to ride everyday since I enjoy every single ride. I don’t really feel any difference in recovery between a full day off and an easy recovery ride.

What are your personal experiences about that and what is the science saying ?

Thanks !

Alban

Firstly, it’s great that you love riding your bike!

I personally have always preferred to do a recovery ride over a full day off, I find that I just can’t get my legs going the next day if I don’t ride at all!

1 Like

Completly agree, 45mins of Z1 is much better for recovery than nothing (in my case)

1 Like

Like others have said, I feel better when I do a recovery ride rather than nothing at all. But I am more of a high volume guy who is not as time constrained as others. Average for the year has been 12 hours a week, including the off-season break, and whatnot.

I feel like I’m pretty motivated, but a day off once a week is nice IMO to fully rest up and not think about cycling for a bit (although here I am on a forum about training!)

Hey !

Thanks for your answer !
So I should go for 45/1h easy spin, even though I won’t have any day off then ?

Cheers

1 Like