Z2 training, optimal time, power vs HR

As I approach my last race of the season in 2 weeks (unless I race CX), I have been thinking of how to best optimize my training in the offseason (October to May). I have a trainer and trainer road but no bikes with power meters (hope to have at least one for next spring, its a priority but I’m a student). I feel rides beyond 60km, usually leave me fatigued and my power decreasing, despite my best efforts I start off too hard for a pace for long distance rides. I have done several rides ~150km but generally with 3 stops or so at like 70k, 100k, 130k (likely would be better to stop earlier, like at 50k, 90k and 120k).
What I wonder is if I should instead limit these Zone 2 endurance rides to distances I can do without stopping ~100k? I wonder if given the fact I need to stop to do the >100km efforts if I am wasting my time a bit and would be better off just doing 100km efforts with no stops.

Or as I don’t have a power meter should I try to do these on the trainer instead, to try and work up to 3 hour workouts. The longest trainer ride I have done so far is 2 hours, Boarstone -2 and I completed that without stopping but my road races are often around 2 hours so probably need to go longer to get the Zone 2 development.

Any suggestions or thoughts, I think I am both FTP and stamina limited and its made me hesitant to move up to the next Cat of road racing despite podiuming every road race I did this year (hoping to win the last one). I’m concerned that as the distance goes from ~60km to ~80kms I will get dropped from the group in the higher category. Generally on tough group rides, we will get past the 60km mark and I will crack in a spot like a railway track crossing or corner followed by a climb, when I need to surge to get back on the paceline and my legs have just lost the snap necessary to bridge that gap.