XC Racing Training

Hope everyone is having a good year! Looking to maybe dabble in XC racing next year, not anything with massive miles, 30 to maybe 35ish type stuff. My question is would I be better off with a second gravel or hardtail bike from a training perspective.? The gravel would be good for the endurance miles but I can also do that on a hardtail. I can also use the hardtail on the trainer for TR workouts etc. My background is trail/enduro riding with the last couple of years focused on mainly technical XC riding in the northeast. I have really come to love just pedaling vs climbing a trail and bombing down (enduro) or riding a chair lift. I have both a gravel and hardtail as second bikes and I am looking to consolidate. Thanks for the help!

1 Like

Hard tail! What bike are you going to race your actual XC races on though? Because… use that one. But between a hard tail and a gravel bike, the hard tail will put you in a position much closer to what you’ll use on race day. I just did a gravel race on my FS bike that I use for XCM racing and I choose that to get used to the position as I’ve been on my gravel and enduro bike a lot this summer.

If you’re going to be racing get a HT because you can use it for races.

Still up in the air as to what I will build for next year. I am honestly just bored with the gravel stuff haha and hoping everyone will answer hardtail. I rode a lot of gravel last year and sure it was good for aerobic fitness but I am not a believe that it transition over to mtb as much because of the body position. I think you can only build mtb fitness on the trail so I have been logging some bigger trail miles this year to help that on my trail bike.

2 Likes

It sounds like you already have both a HT and gravel bike already and therefore looking to get rid of one?

The HT is extremely versatile, you could ride trails and also ride gravel on it. On rougher gravel routes you might not be giving up much speed to a dedicated gravel bike.